You’ve only got a week!


Next year’s Comrades Marathon ‘down-run’ has netted over a third of its 20-thousand entry tally in the first three weeks of its entry process.

With one week to go before the close of early bird entries exclusive to South African athletes, the Comrades Marathon Association has urged runners to be proactive and take advantage of the reduced entry fee.

The early bird entry fee of R380 is valid until 30 September 2015. CMA Race Director, Rowyn James has reminded all South African athletes that there is only one week remaining before it expires.

James says, ‘We hope to have as many South African runners as possible take advantage of this special offer and be part of the 45th ‘Comrades down-run’. As of 1 October, the South African entry fee will increase to R420.’

More than 7300 entries have already been received since the 2016 Comrades Marathon entry process opened on 1 September 2015. Please visit to view the rising entry barometer.

The three month long entry process will close on 30 November 2015 or as soon as the entry cap of 20,000 has been reached. Entry fees for the 2016 Comrades Marathon are as follows:
• Local Entries : R 420.00
• Rest of Africa : R 700.00
• International : R2400.00

Entry is free to all runners who have completed the Comrades Marathon 25 times or more.

Runners can enter as follows:
• online via the Comrades Marathon website:;
• by posting their completed entry form with proof of payment to the CMA Office in Pietermaritzburg:
P.O. Box 100621, Scottsville, 3209;
• by handing in their completed entry form together with the original bank deposit slip at the CMA office in Pietermaritzburg.

Entry forms are available at local running clubs, provincial sporting federations and the CMA office; as well as selected qualifying races which the Comrades Team will be attending from September to November.

Next year’s down-run will be the 91st edition of the world’s greatest ultra-marathon on Sunday, 29 May 2016. The race starts at the Pietermaritzburg City Hall at 05h30 and ends 12 hours later at the Sahara-Kingsmead Cricket Stadium in Durban, covering a distance of around 90km.